In the central part of croatian Adriatic Sea, about 15 Nm to the west from Šibenik town, 7 Nm to the southwest from Murter, or 15 Nm to the south from Zadar town, there is amazing group of islands named Kornati archipelago.

Beauty and singularity of the archipelago moved authorities in 1980 to proclaim a bigger part of that area national park. Since then certain modifications of its borders were made, so that nowadays Kornati National Park occupies the area of about 220 km2 (54.000 acres). There are 89 islands, islets and reefs within the area of Kornati National Park (185 km of the coastline), what makes it the most indented group of islands in the Mediterranean.

The land part of Kornati National Park covers less than 1/4 of its total area, but the values of its landscapes, the "crowns" (cliffs) on the islands facing the open sea, and interesting relief structures, make this part of Kornati National Park unique. Besides, the Kornati submarine area, whose biocenosis are considered to be the richest in the Adriatic Sea, and also the magnificent geomorphology of the sea bed attracts divers from all over Europe to come and enjoy in unforgettable submarine adventures.

For more information visit: www.tel.hr/np-kornati

It was proclaimed a national park in 1985. and is the seventh national park in Croatia.

The Krka National Park is located entirely within the territory of Šibnik-Knin County and encompasses an area of 109 square kilometers along the Krka River: two kilometers downriver from Knin to Skradin and the lower part of the Čikola River.

From the flooded part of the mouth, it is 72.5 kilometers in length, making the Krka the 22nd longest river in Croatia. The source of the Krka River is at the base of the Dinaric Mountains, 3.5 kilometers northeast of the base of Knin and 22 meters below Topoljski Slap, Veliki Buk and Krčić Slap, which are noisy cascades in the winter but run dry during the summer.

The length of the freshwater section of the river is 49 kilometers and that of the brackish section is 23.5 kilometers. Significant tributaries of the Krka River include Krčić, Kosovčica, Orašnica, Butišnica and Čikola with Vrb. With its seven travertine waterfalls and a total drop of 242 meters, the Krka River is a natural and karstic phenomenon.

For more information visit: www.npkrka.hr

With its surface area of 96 km2, from the eastern coast of the Adriatic Sea to the highest peaks of the Velebit Mountains, Vaganski Vrh (1757 m) and Sveto Brdo (1753 m), Paklenica abounds with numerous natural wonders and phenomena, which is why the entire area was proclaimed a national park in 1949. And rightfully so, as this region is simple and unusual in its connection between the sea and the mountains, rich in beech and black pine forests, its deep canyons cut vertically into the Velebit ridge, its karst formations and numerous caves and pits.

For more information visit: www.tel.hr/paklenica

The natural attributes of the Plitvice Lakes National Park, uniqueness and sensibiliry of that phenomenon, deserve a full attention of our visitors.
Recreational aspect of stay and the amazement with beauty of the area that conquers by its natural diversity and harmony of shapes and colours in any of the seasons, is based on many mutually conditioned natural characteristics.

For more information visit: www.np-plitvicka-jezera.hr

 NIN - royal city

In the past, Nin was the royal seat of Croatian Kings and the Bishop. It is situated some 18 km north of Zadar. Duke Branimir received royal recognition from the Pope here in 879. In the centre of town, even today, there stands the marvellous small Church of St. Kriza (Cross), an example of early Croatian architecture. It is of the same Greek cross shape as St. Vida's Church in Zadar, with the name and title of the first head of state, Godecaja engraved above the portal. The engraved inscription for a long time posed a secret but was resolved by M. Pejakovic of Dubrovnik. The building was erected to serve as a clock and calendar giving the time all through the year by the position of the setting sun. At the beginning of the 12th century, just in front of Nin, on a small hill, the little church consecrated to St. Nicholas was built. Near the road leading to town there stands a statue of Bishop Grgur of Nin, the work of the well-known Croatian sculptor Ivan Mestrovic, who also made a smaller copy of this statue which now stands in Split.


Based on a three thousand year old tradition, the Zadar region has evolved to take up 14% of the total territory of the Republic of Croatia, and around 12% of the territorial sea, with as many islands as there are days in the year plus an islands' surface area of approximately 580 km square. Just offshore of the 1200 km long coast, most indented coastline in the Mediterranean, there is an array of four strings of islands beginning with the largest: Pag, Dugi Otok, Ugljan, Pašman, leading to the smaller ones: Silba, Molat, Olib, Premuda, Iž, Vrgada, Sestrunj.

More on: www.zadar.hr